banner ad          banner ad          banner ad

 Promoted by Bozeman Masters Velo * GAS/Intrinsik Cycling Team * Team Rockford Coffee/Clif Bar * Wild Joe's Coffee * * Team Muleterro *

On your marks, get set, Go!!!

Sprinters will own the night for the Saturday evening match sprints. With five blocks of historic downtown Bozeman cordoned off, riders will have plenty of room to test their pure acceleration and sprint smarts against one another. Don’t have a road bike, but love to sprint? Don’t worry, our “single speed/fixie” category will give you a chance to show your stuff.

Directions to Main Street Sprints

From the Main Street Interstate 90 Exit, head west into town. Main Street will be closed off from 4:00 to 10:00 p.m. the evening of the sprints from Rouse Avenue to 3rd Street. Riders can access the start location via Mendendall (which runs parallel to Main Street one block to the north) and Babcock (which runs parallel to Main Street one block to the south). Brackets will be posted at the corner of Main Street and Bozeman Avenue, near the start location. .


Riders competing in the Main Street Sprints must be registered when registration closes on Saturday morning at 9:30 a.m. Riders are strongly encouraged to preregister. Registrations will not be accepted after 9:30 a.m. on Saturday, July 9, 2011. Riders can register at the Time Trial venue off of Springhill Road and Airport Road in the Spainbridge subdivision. See the registration page for more information.

Main Street Drag Start Times

The Tour de Bozeman 2011 Kid’s fun race is on with events starting at 4PM Saturday, July 9 on Main street. The race is a casual out and back sprint open to kids from 0 to 11 years old. Race starts at the corner of Grand and Main Street at 5 PM. There will be a bike decorating station, prizes for the best decorated bikes and treats for all participants.

Parents must sign a liability waiver and register for the kid’s race between 4:00 and 4:30 p.m. Every kid gets a prize!

The main heats will start at 5:30 p.m. Racers will race in heats of up to 6 riders. Heats will be seeded based on time trial results and field size. Categories are as follows:

  • Women’s Category 4
  • Masters B
  • Masters A
  • Men’s Category 4
  • Men Category 5
  • Women’s Category 1-2-3
  • Men’s Category 3
  • Men’s Category 1-2

Photo by Bob Schumacher

Triple Elimination
Tour de Bozeman Match Sprints are a triple-elimination format. Each rider will compete in at least three rounds. No rider will be eliminated until he or she has suffered 3 losses. Any rider who has not suffered 3 losses may still win the event.  In any heat, the first rider to cross the line is the winner all others are considered to have suffered a loss.


All riders begin in the W (winner) bracket.  Riders who win their heat continue in their current bracket, others move to the L (one loss) bracket, or the D (double loss) brackets accordingly.  Riders should refer back to the brackets to keep track of where they stand and when they will compete again.
The three riders who emerge at the top of each (W, L, and D) bracket compete in the FINAL rounds to determine the top 3 positions.  In the final rounds, only those top 3 riders compete and they do so until one rider is left (when the other two have been eliminated based on having suffered 3 losses).

The sprints will take place on a 300-meter straightaway, directly down Main Street. Each heat will include between 2 and 10 riders, depending on the field size. A caller at the start area will call up racers with a microphone. Racers should arrange to be on hand and “race ready” from 5:00 p.m. until 9:00 p.m.
There will be “holders” at the start area to hold riders up for each heat. Once one heat goes, the next heat should line up immediately. Heats will start with a whistle blow. Cameras will record the finish. Racers are responsible for knowing their heat assignments and getting to the start line with plenty of time. Once racers complete a heat, they should proceed back to the starting area to await the next heat.

The top three riders in each category will be awarded time bonuses: 20 seconds for 1st place, 10 seconds for 2nd place, and 5 seconds for 3rd place. Cash prizes will be awarded to the top finishers.